Filament Sensor Issues

Please Login to Comment

Hello all,
I have been printing on my Chiron for about 6 months now, and am starting to get some fun issues. I am continually getting a Filament Sensor trip which stops my prints and hops itself up to allow new filament to be added. The trick is, there is a half roll and there is no call for the sensor to have tripped!
Have any of you had this issue? How did you fix it? I have done the standard, unplug everything and plug it back in, to no avail.
I have a time-sensitive print that I am trying to get done by the weekend (or I will have to Paper Mache the item) and am racking my brain to get this issue resolved.
Any help will be greatly appreciated.

sorry it took so long to answer, but yes I hade the same problem and ended up unplugging the sensor and in the proses of ordering a new one from amazon, they are cheap so I will order a few. works fine with the sensor disconnected .

Yeah, I picked up a new sensor from a local shop as a quick and it cost me like $5. Since then I have taken it apart, and am in the process of testing the old sensor to see if I can find and fix the issue and have a spare sensor, or if I will be stuck with having to buy a new one every 6 months or so ;)

Have the same problem from time to time, removing the string from the nozzle to the print and press continue works - but with a small flaw in the print. If I unrolls some fillament on the roll it seems like I can keep the problem away. Have also tried a couple of the alternative roll holders, and the ones with a bearing seems to do the trick. Also the tuning of the Titan helps a lot and some rolls of fillament never fails! So I have concluded that the problem is due to the friction on the standard roll holder.

Thank you for this, I will look into designing a rounded modification for the Filament Roll Holder and see if that works. For now, I have disconnected the Filament Sensor totally, and have gotten the print done with time to prepare it.