Right place to ask LED wiring questions?

Please Login to Comment

I am very new to LED wiring in my 3D printing projects and need some advice on the one I am now attempting. Is this the correct forum to ask?

If yes, the pic roughly shows what I have and what I am attempting. Three strings of four LED bulbs that I want to wire through a switch and (hopefully) power with a 9V battery.

Thanks again for the helpful tips, that got this project finished. I ended up going with the design I mentioned in a follow-up post....3 strings of 4 LEDs each, wired in parallel, with a 270ohm resistor, powered by two 9-volt batteries.

Here are the pics for my Flux Capacitor on FB: https://www.facebook.com/ukcat/posts/10155547742687197?notif_id=1530370274090677

Congratulations!
:-)

I VERY MUCH appreciate everyone's feedback so far. At this point in my project, I can wire it anyway I like, but do prefer taking advantage of what I've done so far as originally pictured, all 4 in parallel.

If I am starting to understand this a bit more, I am looking at adding a 2nd 9v battery and clipping them together for 18v of supply. Using that info, this config in the attached new pic is most desirable for me. Does it look correct?

Right! If it makes sense for you, you could add a fifth LED in serial, but that's only true with 2 x 9 V batteries. The switch should then be from + of the battery to the wire of the resistors

the D in LED stands for diode. and a diode has an exponential function regarding current depending on voltage. once you are above the threshold voltage a small increase in voltage. (depending on the led: e.g 0.4v might double the current). thus it is very hard to predict the exact current when you apply a fixed voltage. get a little to high and you will exceed the allowed current (typically 20mA) and damage your led. so you need either ca current source (constant current) but typically you limit the current with a resistor.