firmware update through cura

Please Login to Comment

Hey guys Im new to 3d printing and was hoping for some help updating firmware. Now I do not have an arduino so I am forced to do it through cura. I have connected my printer to my windows 7 PC with the mini usb cable and done everything right. I struggle with getting the correct .HEX file and weeding through the zip file I downloaded from http://marlinfw.org/docs/basics/install.html. I thought I had the right one but when I began the update the said failed to communication error. I proceed to try multiple cables and even my windows 10 laptop.I could rely use and appreciate help.

did you build or buy your enclosure, its pretty cool

I just went through this with my own Ender 3 so I didn't have to worry about the Thermal Runaway error.

Yes, you do need a Arduino Uno board and some jumper wires to install the Boot Loader on the Ender 3, Cura can't load the firmware because Creality left out the Boot Loader making it impossible to update the Ender 3 without doing this first. Lots of discussion why but it comes mostly down to memory space available on the Ender 3 logic board. Once the Boot Loader is installed you don't need to install it again to do another firmware update.

I used several YouTube videos as my guide for setting up the Arduino Uno and loading the firmware, I think they could help you as well.

Guide for loading the Boot Loader:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fIl5X2ffdyo

I would skip the TH3D firmware, it caused me more problems and I ended up updating again a few days later to the Mariln 1.1.9 firmware instead.

Use this next video after the Boot Loader is installed as a guide for installing the Marlin 1.1.9 firmware.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lAKyZd63_ns

After the firmware update I had issues printing from Cura 3.6.0 because of timeout setting in Cura, you can find the fix for that in the Cura forums.

This is exactly what I needed. God bless.