Baby Walker incremental wheel movement

Please Login to Comment

Hi, I'm trying to get into 3d printing so I can bring my ideas to life. I recently had a baby boy who has started learning to walk.

Problem: His walker moves forward (or backwards) when pushed (pulled) in an uncontrolled manner. When my son attempts to pull himself up or stabilise himself, the walker shoots forward, resulting in him falling over.

I would like to design and 3d print a mechanism which attaches to the wheels of the walker (simple wooden walk bought from Amazon) which controls its forward and backward movement.

Ideally, I would like the walker to move forward, inch by inch, and only when forward force is applied.

I'm a complete newbie and don't have any engineering knowledge. However, to illustrate some of the mechanisms I thought I might need I have attached a few pictures.

Can anyone please help me?

Hi Moshjoshuk,
Can I suggest that a simple tension device on 1 or 2 wheels would suffice. I have modified several of these devices for my grandchildren and that works fine. Once they have their balance a bit better you can then remove it or reduce the tension. I use a piece of brake pad from a push bike mounted on a pivot with adjustable tension. While you designs are quite good, as an engineer it is common to see people over design and complicate simple challenges in design. Just remember the KISS principle is usually the best. (Keep It Simple St###d). I train all my students/apprentice this way.

This last picture is definitely the way you can do it. But i would ad four metal springs, because these rubber break a lot.

Also, if you install this mechanism, it will allow movement in only one direction.

There are ways to make it go back and front and with diferent speeds.
Best thing to do here is to connect 4 generators to the wheel. and make it produce light and sound as he runs it, it would also lower the speed, but it could go both ways.