Clicky

Newbie Here... Can You Cut One Padded Sketch From Another?

Please Login to Comment

OK.. so I have a sketch to which I have added a pad operation. Let's call that the [carrier]. Inside that, I have another sketch to which I have added another pad operation. Let's call that the [tray]. What I am trying to do is subtract the [tray] from the [carrier], but I cannot find any way to do that. I know how to do it with primitive objects, but is there no way to do this with object created from sketches?

I'm very new to FreeCAD (like a week old) so please be kind :)

UPDATE:
Every time I tried, it would remove both the [carrier] and the [tray]. For some reason, when I would toggle visibility on one on, it would automatically toggle the other one off. I finally found another way to do it - I created a sketch in the XZ plane and just did a pocket cut into the [carrier] - but I'd still like to understand why the original way didn't work in case I ever get in a situation where the pocket won't work...

with freecad all the tools are laid out and you must build the methods personally so that lil by lil you can start to use them to complete some spectacular designs. nah nah..kinda but its more about how fast can you click every little icon until you start remembering what that icon does to the shapes your editing.. the more you click the more your methods will grow. try cross-sections in the parts workbench that and skethcer is all i fux wit really now.. oh and start a really ambitious design too create a 3d model from real 2d blueprints (not copy the bluprint itself but create what the blueprint is for... so that you can start correlating terms as well if you really want

If you're doing this in the Part Design workbench, to do Boolean operations each object needs to be in a separate body.

I seem to have learned that the hard way :)

Just so I understand, what is the {body] for and what goes into it? How does one know when one needs to create another [body]?