Need help with 3Dlabprint P-47 battery hatch mod.

Please Login to Comment

Ok, I am fairly new to printing and CAD. I have only been at it since April. I have made a cut and separated the Fuselage then added support to the parts. When I save it as a STL everything looks great on the build plate of S3D but when I have it slice it does not come out. Please help and if possible tell me what was done and how it was done.

Here is the largest part

I looked at your example in S3D - it says there are many self-intersecting surfaces. This can happen when editing STL files. Especially 3DLabprint files because they publish them in a special non-manifold way, probably to reduce people editing them.

So, I guess that I am where I thought I might be on a total design copy making my own to best match the rest of the plane.

Wish 3Dlabprint guys were actually RC pilots and would realize how much of a PITA it is to drop a wing with servo wires, gear wires and light wires every time you go to fly just for a battery.

It slices for me, But you made it to thin. So once sliced it is missing some parts. You will need to make it thicker before exporting.
Any idea how thick you made it?
It kinda seems like some areas have a thickness of zero or very very low.

this is the original piece and the piece with the top cut out prior to supports being done. the photo is not that piece but to show that that thin wall does print.

Depending on what part you speak of I made or didn't make. This is a modification of an existing design by 3dlabprint. The majority of what I have made have the circles cut out of it. That is .4mm extrusion. The only part that has circles I didn't make is the support that runs from end to end in one width. I will add the original piece for you all to see.