Pla vs damprid

Please Login to Comment

I have a couple of spools in an airtight container ,. I also keep damprid it in the same container. In order to keep the pla a nice and dry. But unfortunately the roles that were in that container are having issues. All the rules but these prints have missing Leader Heights and overall bad flow. Wondering if there's such a thing as keeping the pla too dry or there's some sort of reaction between the PLA and damprid

Thanks for all the replies guys maybe it's just those few spools. For whatever reason they just went bad over time. Most of the other spools in that same box or just fine and some of them are even older

I've been using Damprid for over 2 years in my dry box. No issues. But I do drain the liquid in the bottom of the Damprid bucket every month or so. I also replace them about twice a year (I keep 2 in my filament container)

Big Caveat: Damprid won't actively dry out your filament (neither will reusable desiccant for that matter). The filament needs to be dry before placed in the presence of any desiccant. They WILL help prevent filament from absorbing moisture by keeping the air in the container itself dry. But it doesn't actively dry your filament.

So if you are having issues with your filament being brittle, etc. then it was most likely on the verge of being "wet" when it went into the container. I would recommend a drying procedure in your microwave or time in a low temperature oven to dry it out. Then try to print with it again. I think this will resolve your immediate issues, as it has always worked for me with older filaments I've had in the past. Then you can store the unused filament in the container with the Damprid to help keep it dry.