Extruder is not feeding

Please Login to Comment

Hello everyone! I'm brand new to the trade, I bought one of those Chinese knock off's of the prusa i3 3d printer. Similar to a geeetech but not as nice. I managed to assemble the entire device and got everything working despite the lack of any instructions. However the final issue I've run into is the extruder. Its not feeding and the only way I can get material out the other end is by forcing it through. The extruder came pre-built, it's making a small clicking noise and when I place my hand on the filament to help feed, I can feel it almost pushing back each time it clicks. I'm able to assign the printer to print a job and in the very beginning right before printing, it grabs ahold of the filament and actually backs it out of the extruder for just a half inch or so, this is the only time it appears to grab the filament correctly. I have the wires plugged in correctly but I'm wondering if the manufacturer put the connection together backwards or if 200 degrees isn't enough. Or if maybe there is a tensioning screw..(it was late at night when I worked on it last). Maybe I plugged it when i was forcing filament in, I don't know.. I'm requesting your support and appreciate you unsung heroes and your valiant efforts to keep me sane!!!

P.s- this is the printer http://www.ebay.com/itm/351598468255

hey so my extruder motor isnt moving at all it is not making the effort to pull the filament i any thoughts?

The temperature for PLA was 180 deg. first at my printer. Thiis work not good. I heard a clicking sound every few seconds also the distance between plate and tube was araund a peace of paper density. I increased to 215 deg and the clicking dissapeared.
Then the printing become good for some time. I have a temp range between 205 to 222 selected. For some time this range works fine while printing.