Settings for Hatchbox ABS

Please Login to Comment

I know the 2X is made for ABS, but I need some help. I'm in my first year of teaching Engineering Technology and am trying to get the 2X that the school bought last year printing efficiently. They teacher before me was put off by the new technology. I've tried adjusting settings for Hatchbox ABS, and I haven't had great luck with a good finished print. Right now, I'm using 240c for extruder, 110c for bed, and 70 mm/s for print speed. I've read about adjusting the fan speed, but was wondering what the best settings are for when it comes to Hatchbox ABS.

I have a 2X that I print with PLA all the time and ABS. You don't need to use ABS all the time because it smells horrible and warps a lot - even with a heated bed. The 2X can print Hatchbox PLA very reliably and I mainly use PLA with it even though Makerbot says its only an ABS machine.

Settings for ABS for me are: 1) Kapton tape on the bed, 2) Aquanet Super Hold hairspray on the kapton tape, 3) Heat bed to 110C, 4) Hatchbox ABS at 220 - 230. Print speed IMHO is way to high. I never go above 60 and for fine outer shell, I lower to 35 - 20mm/s.

For PLA: 193 - 205 on Aquanet on Blue Painter's Tape. No additional cooling needed. I do leave the door open for added ventilation and ambient temperature in the room of around 74.

For the 2X, if you are doing dual color prints, you will need to run the calibration and plug in the offsets into the firmware. Once you do this, the 2X can generate very nice dual extrusion prints. You will also need to ensure both heads are leveled. You can print this tool: https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:1735342 and use a digital caliper to confirm both heads are at the same height. Level and you will get awesome prints out of this machine.

Replicator 2x Nozzle Alignment Jig