New and Looking for a Great, budget 3D Printer.

Please Login to Comment

hello, I am new to 3D printing and wanted to see what would be the best 3D printer that would be in reason to start with? Keep in mind, I would want to move to a larger/more advanced printer, once my skill set and knowledge grew. My budget for the printer, I was thinking about 800.00 to 1000.00. Any ideas and I LOVE Start Wars, so I would like to print the Falcon, Tie, and a Few other pieces, that are not super small.

Maybe a Prusa i3 mk3 would be good for you. It's a great printer for the price but has its cons, ( like every printer ) but it's a good printer to learn from. If not then I suggest one of the Creality printers. They are cheaper but are also great for learning.

Thank you to EVERYONE, and I mean Everyone! Your Response's have kept me reading and learning alot. With all your knowledge, i would like to know if I want to print, say a Millennium Falcon, about 12inch across and up (pending the design), or maybe a Storm Trooper about 12 - 14inch tall, and both to be pretty detailed and smooth. Any thoughts on narrowing down the printer selections? if I need to increase my budget by a couple hundred, that is doable. Also, when it comes to the building material ( filament), what's considered great?

Hatchbox PLA is really good ~$25 bucks a spool

buy a cr-10s it has a 300x300x400 mm build volume. you could build both of those models in 2 pieces. i have 3 of these printers. building them was a breeze. it will fall way under your original budget of 800-1000. i mean even if u wanted to spend some of that extra cash on an EZABL you could do that and still be able to buy a bunch of filament. right now the printer is $539 on amazon w/ a free spool of gold PLA, you can get a plug and play EZABL for $65 and ur still under 800 with plenty of cash to spend on filament