After I have an idea where do I start to build a model?

Please Login to Comment

I have an idea! I would like to create a phone holder that attaches to my forearm and allows me to turn the phone 90% but can lock into that position. Think of it as my phone as a wrist watch that is horizontal but if I want I could rotate it to look at it vertically.

I don't care if someone attempts designing something with this idea. My question is what software would I need to start building a design?

I design, build and teach using MatterControl, all-in-one CAD/slice/print.

if you are a complete noob, avoid tinkercad.. I started with designspark mechanical and never looked back... it is free, extremely powerful. and best of all intuitive... it can be nearly mastered in a matter of hours. it was designed for those who want to engineer stuff that don't have a CAD background...

For a functional model, you really don't want to use bender. That's great for organic models. For functional models like you are looking to do, you need a CAD program. There are many good ones and some have already been suggested. I'll throw my favorite in the hat - FreeCAD. It's free (duh, lol) and it's multi-platform. You can use it in linuc (like I do) or windows or (I think) mac, as well.

We I started designing my own stuff for 3D printing I start with CAD programs but I mostly use a 3d animation program called blender now. The reason is that most CAD are great for most non organic but for things like ship hall I find them vary limiting. For organic items they are useless.

https://www.blender.org/

TinkerCAD is good for beginners, since it uses basic shapes and operations, but for this project you might want something more powerful.