Looking for help printing/creating something like this.

Please Login to Comment

Good morning!

I am totally new at this, and tried to design and then ultimately print the attached pictures.

Lets just say , it didnt look like anything to be proud of.

the hearts one looks all pretty, but what printed was disgusting, ultimatly I think maybe the walls were too thin?

the following is what I am trying to achive, either a in filled hexegons, hearts or some king of shape.

is there a better way to do this? even getting the hearts to line up was a 2-3 hour exercise.

I didn't see anyone else mention this, but notice that in your first shot, all the infil all touches where as in your hearts object, they do not touch. They are all free standing and I believe you will have problems print them. You either need to have them touch in a repeating way, or perhaps have the hearts alternate facing opposite directions and touching. Good luck!

i was up late goofind around and came up with this.

but I dont think I like how it turned out.I need to work on making it more concentric

Very Cool. Maybe try arranging 4 so that the tips all point to the center (four leaf clover style) then just repeat that pattern.

ok, so I just put this STL in to CURA, and it came back and said its going to take 12 hours to run.

seems a bit excessive.

is there something out there I can use to clean it up?

Yeah, check your Settings.......when I run that through the Makerbot Desktop slicer (0.3mm, 10% infill, 2 walls), I get 2hrs 46mins, which seems correct for something that size and amount of detail.

i had 60% infill, but changed it too 10% and still showing 12 hours.

nothing is showing me what is what, its been printing now for 2 hjours. and its maybe 3mm tall, so its going to take the 12 hours.

I don't use Cura, so someone else will have to chime in on those settings.

I got so distracted yesterday, ugh, life has a way of getting in the way. I hope I will be able get to this.