Slic3r/GpxUI setup for Duplicator 4S

Please Login to Comment

Hello,

I am quite new to 3d printing and I am trying to configure slic3r for prints.
The printer works with ReplicatorG as he should.

But when I use slic3r/gpxUI the printer doesn't get the right z-axis values.
The printer lowers the print bed to the bottom and even tries to start the print before it is heated.

After checking the slic3r Gcode it should at least heat and wait.
So the error probably lies at gpxUI settings.

I used following setting for gpxUI:
Machine Type: Replicator 1 Dual
Slicer gcode flavor: ReplicatorG/Makerbot

What do you use?
And is there another way to get X3G code?

Thanks
Martin

Ok finally I got it working. My problems with the missing layers came from a full clogging.

The solution for using slic3r is using putting the correct custom start- and end-gcodes into slic3r, as posted in the old google group.
https://groups.google.com/forum/#!msg/wanhao-printer-3d/5fDpqexQUgA/bndABUHHHkQJ

You probably need the advanced printing mode in slic3r to do this. The menu is found in the printer setting tab.

When you have your g-code file for the print from slic3r, use gpxUI (MachineType: Replicator Dual and Slice Gcode flavor: ReplicatorG/ Makerbot Desktop).

Thanks everybody for contributing!

Hello Martin, I had the same issue than you.
I've tryed Slic3r, Cura, and I never get a good result. Untill I try Makerbot Desktop 3.10 that is very usefull for me. I don't know if it's the best slicer, but it works and it is very easy to use.

No problems for print with USB cable or SD (makerbot printers use the same code ".x3g")

I hope that it helps you.

Bye.

Hello Edu,

thanks for your tip. I will check it out.
But I still believe, that slic3r and some x3g converter should work with the correct settings and the 4s.
And that would probably be better, as slic3r is open software..

Makerbot is trying to keep the clones out with the newer versions.

There are people using this combo.