Technically wrong xyz group but had most members. Question

Please Login to Comment

Im running the mini w+ I had a massive jam in my nozzle to the point I had to tear down the extruder. Now when I was unplugging all the wires i unplugged the heat wires? (I’m new to 3D printing but have worked in IT and repairing electronics for years) the female plug on the board literally fell off. I could probably solder it back on but the points on the board aren’t that clear. Any suggestions on how I can run the heat wires until I can get around To trying to fix it and if I can’t fix it. I see that xyz has a killer deal (sarcasm) on a whole new extruder. But I can’t seem to get enough information to see it then board is in that extruder or if it’s technically a different part. Welcome to show pictures if anyone is interested and any help would be greatly appreciated.

When I first got the printer before I got the open filament chip I was like idknwhy people crap on these guys so much yeah little extra for open filament but I’ve come to notice a lot of proprietary parts in these machines.

The connector that was soldered to the PCB is a Molex Microfit Series (P/N: 43650224) very similar to the one used on the Da Vinci Pro printers. The only difference is the Mini uses a surface mount vertical version while the Pro printers use a thru hole right angle version. The connector on the heating element is the same for both printers

The outline drawing attached includes the PCB pad layout which should help you identify the electrical connections if you decide to solder directly to the board. I have replaced the connector three (3) times before making an adapter cable using JST-EL series connectors for my heater connections; https://amzn.to/2XZCqbv

The heater is nothing more than a resistor encapsulated in a tube so there is no polarity on the heater connections. Do not let the fact the connectors could also be used for polarized connections due to the locking tab.

Hope this helps.